I get by with a little help from my friends…

Don’t worry. I’m not referring to steroids.  I’ve gotten a glimpse of how tempting those might be when your legs give out or you’re coughing up a lung , but I don’t want to end up with a heart attack at age 50 and hair growing out of my chest.

I mean real friends. You know, the kind that make sure that you make it to a workout when you are feeling about as sluggish as I am this morning. When that little voice in the back of your head is saying, “I could just stay home and get some more laundry done, or lie down on the couch and read a little.”

I’ve already mentioned my running buddy, Katie. We really kept each other going and still do. We’ve hit many milestones together, like running an entire 5k and not walking any of it. She was there when I cried after my first 10k because I had tried to do it in new shoes that didn’t really work out. I had stopped in the middle and thought about running barefoot, tried walking part of it, and decided that the faster I got through the pain the better. So I jogged.  I had told Katie to go ahead since I was to pick up my son from church choir. Did I think about quitting? No. Just knowing they were there waiting and that I had made a goal kept me going. The amazing “Running Wild” store took my shoes back and helped me into some better ones.

The next 10k was much better. When I ran my first 10k race in Iowa City,  Katie ran 10k at the same time in Texas where she was doing a residency so that she could feel my pain and call and congratulate me at the end.  She was one of the first I told that I had finally done a little running on Friday after months of rehab from ankle surgery. This was an important milestone for me and one I had to do alone because I am forcing myself to go really slowly (5 mins walking, 1 min jogx5) until I feel no pain. I’m feeling very encouraged, but am going to take it easy this week and stick to that phase of my running recovery plan.

When I started biking I felt lost. Fortunately, I have a few friends that are into biking more than other. Last summer I did some biking with my friend Bill on the Cedar Valley Trail and he busted enough tires on potholes for me to realize that it’s better to be two than one so that one person can bike back to get the car if you don’t have  a patch kit with you. One time we had biked out about 18 miles and were on our way back when that happened. Since I had  to be at work in an hour, I jogged the trail with his bike while he rode mine back to get the car; a wonderful opportunity for me to do a brick workout in 90 degree Iowa heat! I’m not being sarcastic in saying that I appreciated him blowing a tire that day; it created another chance for me to see how far I could push myself and taught me to laugh in the face of trying circumstances.

A few years ago I reconnected with an old friend, Matt, who I knew in grade school. He’s the kind of guy who doesn’t do it for the lycra; he bikes to work in Iowa winters, does his own repairs and has raced with Iowa City’s top team. He’s not pretentious, and gave me lots of advice about getting my own bike. Recently he’s been showing me routes around the Iowa countryside. Many of these are in Amish country, often places I drove to in high school for entertainment with friends and to get away from our parents. Last weekend I did a 35 mile loop with Matt and Tony that headed through Frytown and Hills. Although Hills itself is relatively flat, the loop took us over some lolling hills and quiet Amish farms greeted us with signs like, “God’s grace should be sufficient.” I think I may have muttered that God’s grace didn’t quite get me up that last hill, but Matt did remark that it is nice to have encouraging, inspirational messages along the way, and he is right. I need all the help I can get.

There’s one last leg of the triathlon, although it’s always the first in a race: swimming. It would seem logical that it would be better to wet at the end, when you are all sweaty from running and biking, but race organizers are smarter than that. They don’t want tired triathletes sinking to the bottom of a lake or ocean. I always thought I was an okay swimmer, but when I got back in the pool and really tried swimming laps two years ago, it was not pretty. I suffer from asthma and although I sound like Darth Vader running and biking at times, swimming is a real trial when you can’t breathe. I literally had to stop every lap. I coaxed myself into doing more, remembering my Oberlin days when swimming relaxed me and helped soothe strained shoulder and back muscles sore from hours of cello-playing.

The pool is my “think-tank,” and ultimately, my friend. You are alone in the water; isolated from others and in a deep silence that I find calming in my busy, music-filled life. I worked on my dissertation in the water, mulling over ways to reword or reorganize thoughts. I’ve thought about current people I am dating and how to communicate my needs better. Unlike the moments when I wake up in the middle of the night with insomnia, often anxious about how to solve problems, the pool is always productive. Even if I haven’t solved an issue when I climb out, I feel more ready to face it. Sometimes, I just focus on my stroke or my breathing. I’ve tried swimming with my eyes closed to emulate triathlon conditions in murky water where you really can’t see a thing except the foot in front of you. I haven’t hit the side of the pool yet, and swimming blindly is a great way to see if you are swimming straight. I got to the point last year where I could swim for an hour and even longer without stopping, slowly but surely. I took some lessons to refresh my memory about flip-turns, but also to learn to propel myself more effectively (and eventually faster) in the water. This has been very helpful because I can’t see myself swim; I can only trust when it feels right. Dara Torres, a 45 year-old Olympic swimmer, is a huge inspiration. I don’t aspire to be her, or even to compete. I just would like to be the best I can in my own context; a 44 yr. old mother with many part-time jobs.

Today I am meeting my future-Ironman friend Tony for a long swim and then wings at the Vine. It’s important to reward milestones! I try to get a new piece of exercise equipment I’ve been craving (an idea from my brother-in-law/Ironman Jairo!) every time I set a personal record. Recently I got a new suit and realized that my old was was sagging because it is not only a year-old, but a size too big, too. That’s always encouraging!

For the curious in you, here was my workout last week:

Sunday–35 mile bike ride

Monday–Lifted weights and abs, 40 mins, swam with Tony, 45 mins

Tuesday–swim, 30 mins

Wednesday–10 mins elliptical (therapist’s order for pre-run), 30 mins weights

Thursday–off

Friday–30 mins bike, 30 mins weights, 30 mins running!

Saturday off

I’m also doing daily stretching and strengthening exercises for my ankle/calf. This schedule will get more strenuous as I begin to run and hopefully do some brick workouts. It becomes naturally easier to do this in the summer when I have less work and the Iowa weather isn’t as manic as it is right now (yesterday 77, today 5os). I can’t wait!

Thank you for reading! And thanks to all my friends!! You know who you are.

Leave a Reply

