Monday Muffin Madness.

There are no words to describe the horror of yesterday’s bombings at the Boston Marathon. I think of all the races that my son was there to cheer me on at the finish and feel sick. How someone could have chosen a race that is symbolic to the city of the Boston and runners as the ultimate party, that ultimate challenge, and choose the time when they majority of runners would be finishing to set off the bomb, is beyond my comprehension.

When it happened, I was trying a new muffin recipe and thinking that I should make muffins every Monday because it made me happy to bake after working all weekend. I was providing for my family and know that a few friends and students will always profit, as well.

I decided to start Monday Muffins. If and only if it stays fun, I will post a new Gluten-Free muffin recipe here every Monday. Some borrowed, some new.

This one I largely adapted from the Gluten-Free Goddess, my all-time hands-down favorite gluten-free blogger. I made a few changes: I didn’t have quinoa flour on hand so I substituted garbanzo bean, which can taste bitter. It went fine with the chocolate. I also added in two very ripe bananas as kind of an after-thought. They were a great addition! I used a whole bar of Ghiradelli baking chocolate (never enough chocolate!) and a 1/4 cup chocolate chips. It made for gooey pools of melted chocolate in the muffins–delish. I used pecans in both  the mix and on top, and have renamed them Chunky Muffin Madness.

http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2010/02/chocolate-muffins.html

The result was delicious. In the face of horror and terror, I will continue to do simple things that remind me of the goodness on this planet. Today I’m going to wear a running shirt to work in solidarity, and I have also pledged to run 2.6 miles every week this year in memory of the families, friends, and runners injured or killed. I also will think of all the helpers as I run this year; the people that were there right away and set to responding to horrific events even though some of them had just run 26.2 miles themselves. Good will overcome.

Image
Chunky Monkey Muffins borrowed from the Gluten-Free Goddess Chocolate muffin recipe

Published by cellistwhotris

I am foremost a mom, then a cellist and an athlete. A triathlete!

Leave a comment