Monday Muffins: Strawberry whole grain GF

Image
Strawberry whole grain gluten free muffins

Spring means strawberries are cheaper! I got a LOT at Costco last week. They are not perfect and need a lot of enhancement (lemon juice, sugar), but I thought they would do well in muffins.

After perusing a lot of GF sites on the internet, I came back to my favorite:  Glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com.  I liked the idea of not using Xanthan gum in these. I went to the store because I was out of sorghum flour, and balked at buying almond or hazelnut flour as they were so expensive. I did get coconut flour.

I know to not use replacements if you want your GF recipes to turn out! Different flours can really ruin the taste and texture. But I did for financial reasons. I just used more sorghum which is a sweeter flour instead of the hazelnut. I would love to try it with that flour someday, though!

Image
So many choices!

The result was lovely! After going for a run I decided they needed a little smidgen of something to compliment their nice springy texture. They are sweet and slightly grainy, which I thought would go great with some different spreads I have. But the decision was hard! I went with the “healthy” Nutella-type spread from Trader Joe’s as I just needed the cocoa kick post-run, but the chestnut paste from France was next on my list. I may have to sample that later!

I definitely enjoyed this recipe and  loved the fact that the muffins are flavored with maple syrup. I don’t use much white sugar and almost never bake with butter any more. Living in Southern France taught me that yes, olive oil tastes delicious in cakes and makes for a light, moist texture.

Here is the link to the original blog post on Glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com. Please read her directions carefully and enjoy her wonderful recipes!http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com/2011/04/gluten-free-whole-grain-strawberry.html?q=strawberries

Happy Monday, everyone! Go get some sunshine or, if you’re snowed in, bake!!

Image
Me and my muffins
Leave a Reply

