5.18

5.18 miles.

Not the farthest I’ve ever run, but certainly the farthest in two years.

Interestingly, I almost threw in the towel tonight after one block. I’ve been painting all day, it felt about 90% humidity out and looked stormy, and my lungs were just not working.

Then I looked down at my new running shoes. I thought about the hours of running and biking I’ve sacrificed to pay for them. I used my Gym Pact money to pay for more than 50% of my new Saucony Hurricane 5’s. One foot in front of the other, I made it up my horrible first hill and then really felt just fine!

ImageAdd to this, I’ve been eating right. I admit to being slightly influenced by Rich Roll’s fad book. I don’t have his driven personality or over-the-top-get-up-and-go, but I’d like to think I have a good sense of what to put in my body and a drive to always go beyond what I think I can.

120606050451-finding-ultra-story-top

I’ve been making smoothies from my garden out of home-grown kale and dandelions, with some blueberries and ginger added to take away the bitterness, and healthy protein like pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, almonds, etc.

 The result is that I feel like my body is functioning better. I have energy and feel driven to work out every day! 1004660_10151578514436025_1958341201_n

This may not be for everyone, and I’m not sure that it is cheap long term, but considering that I’ve bought neither red meat or chicken all summer, that I’m growing lots of produce and not paying for a gym, it all balances out!

I’ve been spending some time with one of my son’s very talented, smart and creative friends. She has been helping me paint his room and garden, as well as be a surrogate daughter. This has been uplifting to my spirits and I believe hers, as well.

But you know who is benefitting the most from my exercise routine? Yeah, my furry friend Rose. She may have not won our local newspaper’s cutest pet contest, but she is the mutt of my heart and we are taking two walks a day and running consistently. She brings her balls to me every night and throws them off the bed if I don’t. Rose, I love you.

1017093_10151587937611025_788705946_n

Leave a Reply

