Half-Marathon or Bust! Pre-race thoughts from the Mother of all Giant Sloths

I am so ready to rock this!Image

Tomorrow I will finally run my first half-marathon. Why so much clothing? Because it is going to be in the 30s when I get up, around 45 when I get to the course and hopefully 50s about half-way through. Hopefully it won’t rain. I’m very lucky that Ballet Boy will be there to hold my extra clothes as I strip at the start line. I get really hot and sweaty running and would rather be a bit chilly at first.

I am as nervous as for my first triathlon. Like my first tri, I have no idea how the idea popped into my head that I should or could do this. It was always on my list as the ultimate experience I could have, and I certainly have many friends who have completed one.

I’ve had some crazy stress dreams this week. One was literally a race. I was trying run and stopped to pee in a stream and got completely soaked. Then my sister-in-law piled coats into my arms, which I tried to carry on my run, my shoes full of water. At one point I dropped a trench coat, and ran back 2.5 miles to get it because it contained my car keys. Can you say NEUR-O-TIC?

At first I felt a little like, “Oh, it’s just a 1/2 marathon.” Because I also have a lot of friends that have done marathons. Olympic Tris. Half-Ironman. Ironman.

But this is my Olympic event. This is my Ironman. For now, it’s the ultimate way I can push myself. Someday I may have another goal or race in sight, but for now it is the farthest I will have ever run, with a still iffy ankle, by myself.

I’m very proud to have been able to make it this far. Last spring I thought that I would struggle through 5ks the rest of my life. I had to ice my ankle after each  2.4 mile run. I had to take multiple days off. I stretched and massaged it daily.

Tomorrow I’m fairly confident I can run most of the race. It won’t be fast, and I am constantly wrestling with my competitive, goal-oriented mind. I want to finish under 2.5 hours. I want to run the whole way. You know what, though? I am going to go out and enjoy every minute. My ankle has been skittish this week, so I’ve done no running since Wednesday.

On the other hand, I’ve enjoyed the carb fest since yesterday. I don’t usually eat carbs at all. Or only once a day. I eat lots of fiber; fresh veggies and squash from my garden, fresh fruit in season.

Here’s what I’ve had to eat the last few days:

Image

And, here is how I feel!Image

Tomorrow I will have my first race medal ever (woo hoo, I know!) and mostly have a blast with brunch afterwards with family and my closest dearest friends. I just see this as another benchmark in life where I will always strive to challenge myself and recreate my present and future self.

Have a great Sunday!

 

3 Replies to “Half-Marathon or Bust! Pre-race thoughts from the Mother of all Giant Sloths”

  1. My bike ride today put me on the same off-road trail as a marathon (I’d never yelled “On your left” so much in my life!). The day started out at in the mid 30’s and finally got up to about 50. I was amazed at how vastly different the runners were dressed. Some folks looked like they were ready for an arctic expedition and others looked like they just stepped off a plane in the Bahamas!

    1. I saw all of the above today! Some people looked uncomfortably over-dressed to me, but I guess we all have different body temps! I sweat a lot, which makes me cool off, but mostly I just feel a lot better if I dress for 20 degrees over the actual temperature. And THANKS for yelling “on your left!” I do that as I know as a runner that I appreciate it, and a fellow biker told me I was being rude and scaring the runners. I told him he was clueless, that even if I jumped I appreciated knowing what was coming up behind me. 😉

    2. I saw all of the above today! Some people looked uncomfortably over-dressed to me, but I guess we all have different body temps! I sweat a lot, which makes me cool off, but mostly I just feel a lot better if I dress for 20 degrees over the actual temperature. And THANKS for yelling “on your left!” I do that as I know as a runner that I appreciate it, and a fellow biker told me I was being rude and scaring the runners. I told him he was clueless, that even if I jumped I appreciated knowing what was coming up behind me. 😉

Leave a Reply

